Keyvisual

RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous Substances)

What does RoHS mean?
Restriction of Hazardous Substances

The EU-wide RoHS directive (directive 2011/65 / EU on the restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic devices) contains various chemical substances that must not be used in electrical electronic devices.

RoHS calls for the avoidance of six substances, heavy metals, brominated flame retardants and plasticizers. These substances used in electrical engineering are considered to be extremely dangerous to the environment, they are toxic and can only be broken down by the environment with difficulty.

For which substances do the RoHS restrictions apply?

In the history, six substances have been regulated:

  • Lead (Pb)
  • Cadmium (Cd)
  • Polybrominated biphenyls (PBB)
  • Polybrominated diphenyl ether (PBDE)
  • Mercury (mercury)
  • Hexavalent chromium (CrO3)

In 2015, Directive 2015/863 / EU (Annex II) was expanded to include four additional substances. These are now also limited in their use:

  • Butyl benzyl phthalate (BBP)
  • Di (2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP)
  • Dibutyl phthalate (DBP)
  • Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP)

Since July 22, 2019, these RoHS guidelines also apply to the newly added category 11 (all other electronic devices that cannot be assigned to any other category).

Cables that are used for the transmission of electrical currents or electromagnetic fields are also “electrical and electronic devices”. Only cables with a nominal voltage of <250 V fall within this scope. Accordingly, the substance restrictions must be observed. External cables that are placed on the market separately and are not part of another electrical and electronic device must be classified as Category 11 and therefore meet the substance restrictions (including unfinished cables such as cable drums without a connector).

On request, we sent you with a RoHS certification, that documented that we comply with the currently valid RoHS guidelines.

Keyvisual

RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous Substances)

Was bedeutet RoHS? 
Restriction of Hazardous Substances -  Beschränkung der Verwendung bestimmter gefährlicher Stoffe

Die EU-weit geltende RoHS Richtlinie (Richtlinie 2011/65/EU zur Beschränkung der Verwendung bestimmter gefährlicher Stoffe in Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten) enthält verschiedene chemische Stoffe, die in Elektro- Elektronikgeräten nicht verwendet werden dürfen. 

RoHS fordert die Vermeidung von sechs Substanzen, Schwermetallen, bromierten Flammschutzmitteln und Weichmachern. Diese, in der Elektrotechnik verwendeten Substanzen, gelten als höchst umweltgefährdend, sie sind toxisch und können nur schlecht von der Umwelt abgebaut werden.

Für welche Stoffe gelten die RoHS Beschränkungen?

Bisher waren sechs Stoffe reglementiert:

  • Blei (Pb)
  • Cadmium (Cd) 
  • Polybromierte Biphenyle (PBB) 
  • Polybromierte Diphenylether (PBDE) 
  • Quecksilber (Hg) 
  • Sechswertiges Chrom (CrO3) 

2015 wurde die Richtlinie 2015/863/EU (Anhang II) um vier weitere Stoffe erweitert. Diese sind nun ebenfalls in Ihrer Verwendung beschränkt:

  • Butylbenzylphthalat (BBP)
  • Di(2-ethylhexyl)phthalat (DEHP)
  • Dibutylphthalat (DBP)
  • Diisobutylphthalat (DIBP)

Seit dem 22. Juli 2019 gelten diese RoHS Richtlinien auch für die neu hinzugekommene Kategorie 11 (Alle sonstigen Elektronikgeräte, die keiner anderen Kategorien zuzuordnen sind).

Kabel, die für die Übertragung von elektrischen Strömen oder elektromagnetischen Feldern verwendet werden, sind ebenfalls „Elektro- und Elektronikgeräte“. In diesen Geltungsbereich fallen nur Kabel mit einer Nennspannung <250 V. Entsprechend müssen die Stoffbeschränkungen eingehalten werden. Externe Kabel, die separat in Verkehr gebracht werden und nicht Teil eines anderen Elektro- und Elektronikgeräts sind, müssen als Kategorie 11 eingestuft werden und daher die Stoffbeschränkungen erfüllen (auch unfertige Kabel wie Kabeltrommeln ohne Stecker).

Auf Wunsch stellen wir Ihnen gerne ein Zertifikat zur Verfügung, welches dokumentiert, dass wir uns an die aktuell gültigen RoHS-Richtlinien halten.